Family Traditions: Mamon Babineaux’s Shrimp Creole

This recipe is a super special one because not only is it one of the first dishes I ever made when I started teaching myself how to cook, but it also spans four generations in my family. It has been passed down from Mamon Babineaux (my late great-grandmother) to her daughter, Harriet Shea (my grandmother) to her son, Steve Shea (my late father), who sent it to me many years ago while I was in college. It’s a simple recipe packed with bold Cajun flavors. From my family to yours — enjoy!

Mamon Babineaux’s Shrimp Creole
Serves 4-6

Ingredients
¼ cup vegetable oil
½ cup chopped onion
½ cup chopped celery
½ cup chopped green bell pepper
1 clove garlic, minced
2 (8-ounce) cans tomato sauce
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon chili powder
½ teaspoon black pepper
1 pound shrimp, peeled and deveined
White rice

 

Directions
In a Dutch oven, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the veggies and garlic to the pot and cook until soft, 5-7 minutes. Mix in tomato sauce and seasonings. Simmer 15 minutes. Then add shrimp and cook 5-10 minutes.

Serve over cooked rice.

2 thoughts on “Family Traditions: Mamon Babineaux’s Shrimp Creole

  1. Pingback: Eating Our Way Through 2016: The Third Annual Envy Awards | Order Envy

Leave a Reply

