A Taste of Autumn: Grammie’s Apple Cake

apple cake

There are many reasons why autumn is my favorite season. It’s the start of football season (my all-time favorite season – wink, wink). We celebrate my birthday in early November (this year marks the big 3-0). The season ushers in cooler fall temperatures. (And you know what that means … boot weather!) Plus, it wraps up with one of the year’s most beloved foodie holidays: Thanksgiving.

Now that we live in South Florida, I’m thinking those cool temps might hold off until later in the year. And although they certainly haven’t arrived yet, I kicked off the fall season this week in a perfect way … by making my Grammie’s apple cake. You might remember my great-grandmother from the Hummingbird Cake of hers I made back in February.

I always love using family recipes, and this weekend I’ll get to enjoy this scrumptious spiced cake with family, as my mom and sister come for a visit in Miami. I hope it warms you throughout the autumn season as much as it has for us.

Grammie’s Apple Cake

Ingredients:
2 cups sugar
3 eggs
3 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 ½ cups vegetable oil
3 cups finely chopped apples (I use the pre-sliced apples and peel them before chopping)
1 ½ cups chopped pecans or walnuts (I use 1 cup walnuts and ½ cup pecans)
2 teaspoons vanilla
½ cup Bakers coconut
cinnamon-sugar mixture for sprinkling

Directions:
Beat sugar and eggs in large bowl with a hand mixer. In a separate bowl, combine flour, salt, baking soda and cinnamon. Slowly mix the dry ingredients into the sugar-egg mixture. Add oil, chopped apples, nuts, vanilla and coconut. Mix by hand! Pour into greased and floured pan. (I use a Bundt pan, but you could also use a 9×13 cake pan.) Sprinkle cinnamon-sugar on top. (Note: If using a Bundt pan, sprinkle some around the pan before pouring mixture into the pan.) Bake at 350 degrees for 45-60 minutes. (My oven took about 50-55 minutes to bake all the way through.) Let cool on a rack – served best with vanilla ice cream.

One thought on “A Taste of Autumn: Grammie’s Apple Cake

Leave a Reply

