Twisted Cuban Classics: Bread + Butter

Bread + ButterBread + Butter
2330 Salzedo St.
breadandbuttercounter.com

There’s no doubt Miami offers a wide variety of global cuisines, but this South Florida city is probably best known for its Cuban food. I’m sure each resident stakes claim on “the best Cuban restaurant” in the city, whether it’s in Little Havana or otherwise. Trust me, as a new Miami resident, I’m on a mission to find my own favorite.

Bread + Butter3

That’s what first drew me to Coral Gables’ Bread + Butter Counter, a “chef-owned gastrocounter” adjacent to the posh Miracle Mile serving up Cuban classics, but with their own twist.

Bread + Butter2

I sat down for lunch with a girlfriend of mine at Bread + Butter last week, and we enjoyed the casual and homey atmosphere of the place – not to mention we drank our water out of shiny silver mugs.

Bread + Butter4

Our friendly server recommended a couple of sandwiches for us on the menu – a grilled cheese filled with ropa vieja ($12) for my friend, while I opted for a classic, the Cuban ($14).  My lunch partner raved about the stuffed grilled cheese, and I couldn’t help but continue noshing on my Cuban, with its crunchy medianoche croquettes and melty Swiss cheese. We both agreed the bread on our sandwiches tasted super fresh and hit that soft-yet-toasty note. Both ‘wiches came with mariquitas (fried plantain chips), which were perfectly crisp and salty.

Bread + Butter5

While Bread + Butter serves up more than just sandwiches, there seems to be a loyal lunch crowd on hand, particularly on the afternoon we visited. I look forward to enjoying dinner on my next visit, and especially one of their desserts – I’m talking torrejas (Cuban French toast) and Humboldt Fog goat cheese flan.

One thought on “Twisted Cuban Classics: Bread + Butter

Leave a Reply

